Monthly Archives: August 2014

Gluten-Free Muffins Are Now Available In Canada From All But Gluten™!

The exciting news coming from All But Gluten™ is that their popular and delicious Blueberry Gluten-Free Muffins will now be carried in stores all across Canada! For those eating gluten-free, whether for health reasons or because of personal choice, the introduction of any new gluten-free product is welcome news. Every addition to the range of products available makes life just that little bit easier, especially if there are children in our lives suffering from gluten sensitivity or Celiac disease. Not missing out on yummy goodness goes a long way toward making life without gluten a whole lot more enjoyable!

A Good Breakfast Is Vital, But Sometimes Tricky For Those Eating Gluten-Free

Since so many traditional breakfast options contain wheat, oats, and barley (which contain or may contain trace elements of gluten), finding a simple, quick, and tasty breakfast food can be challenging. Most cereals are out, but now you can make sure you have a stock of blueberry gluten-free muffins in your pantry! Served warm or cold, they make a great start to your day. They can also be served as dessert! Just slice them in half, use a spoon to scoop out the middle, and fill with gluten-free ice cream and some fresh strawberries and blueberries. Yum!

You can also simply pop them in your bag for a quick snack later in the day or include them in your child’s lunch box. But don’t be surprised when their friends start asking you to send extra, because these blueberry gluten-free muffins are not only indistinguishable from “regular” muffins, we think they’re even better! If you’re running late in the morning, just grab the car keys and your blueberry gluten-free muffins and you can easily eat breakfast on the way to work or to drop the kids off at school.

Now available in Canada, All But Gluten™ Blueberry Gluten-Free Muffins offer yet another great option in their range of Certified Gluten-Free Products. Visit the All But Gluten™ website to find your closest location where products are sold.

Gluten Free: Food List Of Surprising Gluten Sources In Your Pantry Or Fridge

You cleared the kitchen of any and all foods containing gluten – or so you thought. All But Gluten™ has a great and varied gluten free food list to make eating gluten-free easier, but do you know these commonly overlooked sources of gluten? Help educate yourself, your family, and your friends so that your gluten-free journey can be a successful one.

Gluten Free: Food List For Sneaky Gluten-Containing Products!

Gluten lurks in some surprising places, ready to strike at unsuspecting individuals with Celiac disease or a gluten sensitivity. But where? Your favorite food item or condiment may be making you sick without you realizing it. Let’s get to the list!

–    Soups – That’s right. Your warm and comforting creamy soup very likely contains gluten in the form of wheat flour, often used to thicken liquids. Make your own creamy soups to avoid this sneaky gluten food.

–    Gravies and sauces – Chances are good that you shouldn’t be eating most store-bought or typical homemade gravies, as they are thickened with wheat flour. Many pre-prepared sauces also contain gluten within the thickening agent. Seek out gluten-free gravy in your grocery store, or make your own to ensure your safety.

–    Salad dressings – Who would have thought? Check your salad dressing labels carefully. Once again, gluten is used frequently to thicken up liquids, sauces, and salad dressings. Seek out a ‘gluten-free’ label.

–    Potato Chips – While many varieties of potato chips are gluten-free and labelled as such, many special variety chips (sour cream and onion, barbeque, etc.) use gluten as a binding agent to keep the specialty ingredients on the chip itself.

–    Frozen hamburger patties – This is a super sneaky one! Check your frozen hamburger patty labels carefully for 100% beef (meat). Wheat crumbs or wheat flour is used to help hold hamburger, meatballs, or meatloaf together. What looks like an unsuspecting burger could be making you sick!

–    Ice cream – This is a sad one. Sometimes we get too excited about the fact that ice cream appears to be safe, forgetting about the gluten that may be in the additives (cookie dough, cookie crumbles, cheesecake pieces, etc.) Even an innocent looking fruit ice cream may contain gluten.

–    Soy sauce – Multiple varieties of soy sauce do indeed contain gluten. It doesn’t seem like a likely place for wheat, but check your label!

–    ‘Processed in a facility that also processes wheat.’ – While a food may otherwise fit the gluten-free food list, this phrase renders it risky to eat for someone with Celiac disease. This phrase identifies the possibility of cross-contamination, and should be taken as seriously as a listing of wheat in the ingredient list.

How Can I Add To The Gluten-Free Food List?

Seek out labels that state the food is gluten-free, and even better, made in a certified GFCP gluten-free facility. These labels become your life raft in a sea of potentially risky food items.

All But Gluten™ provides a wide range of gluten-free food list items, guaranteed to satisfy your taste buds while keeping gluten away from your digestive system. These products can be found in many grocery stores and health food stores: click here for a list of locations where All But Gluten™ products are sold.